1960ranch's Blog


Cigar Ash Tray?
September 28, 2009, 1:53 am
Filed under: Uncategorized



Cigar Ash Tray?

Originally uploaded by s smay

I was told by my Grandma that this was her grandmother’s. However, I’m pretty sure its a cigar ash tray. My mom thinks it’s an inkwell. Which would make more sense because i cant imagine my great great grandmother smoking cigars. Not that I even knew her.

The lid lifts up and there is a glass jar inside, which is a good argument for the inkwell, but theres no place for a quill. I think the tray portion is for ashes, and the glas jar is to put the cigar out, cause it would put burn marks in the tray. The whole thing has to be cast iron because it is sooooo heavy. Any Ideas?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Just found one of these on Ebay. Definitely an inkwell, no cigar.

Comment by 1960ranch




Leave a Reply

